Skip to content

‘Breakfast Of Champions’ or ‘Superhero Lunch Atop A Skyscraper’ – Call It What You Like, My Picture Has Sold Millions – So How Come I’m Not Rich?? or Now I Know How Metallica Felt.

February 28, 2017

The Bittersweet Tale Of Breakfast Of Champions/Superheroes Lunch Atop A Skyscraper.

Do you recognise this picture? I did it a few years ago. It’s called Breakfast Of Champions, and when I was doing it I thought it was pretty good but had no idea how massively successful it was going to be. I do now. It’s massively successful. So where’s my huge mansion in the Hollywood Hills?  Unfortunately I’ve probably seen about 1% of the profits from its sales (which is not a small amount, so I can’t complain too much, considering all the art I’ve put so much work into that earned me a big fat nothing.

Marvel and DC Superheroes Lunch Atop A Skyscraper

Marvel and DC Superheroes Lunch Atop A Skyscraper

Before I go any further, allow me to it – link to itwww.danavenell.com/buy-breakfast-of-champions-marvel-and-dc-superheroes-lunch-atop-a-skyscraper and I’ll soon explain why I gave it that caption rather than simply Breakfast Of Champions.

By the time I did Marvel and DC Superheroes Lunch Atop A Skyscraper er I mean Breakfast Of Champions, I’d been taking my art career seriously for a few years, put a website together back when you had to learn code (which i’ve now almost completely forgotten how to do) and put up as much of my art as I had ready. The first thing that began to sell well was this:

Kelly's Heroes: Oddball Says

Kelly’s Heroes: Oddball Says

which is possibly still my second most successful piece, I’ve stuck it on mugs and t-shirts and I was happy to see it make me some money I mean make people happy. And if you want a copy, here’s a link: www.danavenell.com/buy-oddball-says-donald-sutherland-kellys-heroes-by-dan-avenell/

When Breakfast Of Champions was put on my website it got respectable sales – and around this time I did a deal with a national chain of art stores, like an Athena for the 21st century ( a chain store that sold posters, I’m not saying I was suddenly like a  Greek Goddess). Suddenly it was flying off the shelves everywhere, and  I was spending money to advertise the thing on Facebook and that was reaping loads of orders too. I was happy. It was being sold in a new format to me, a Mounted Canvas, which I will post a picture of, as another shameless way of getting the damn thing to show up higher in google searches…

Marvel and DC Superheroes Lunch Atop A Skyscraper by Dan Avenell

Breakfast Of Champions: Marvel and DC Superheroes Lunch Atop A Skyscraper

There. Nice.

After a while though, I’d hear that somebody bought it in New York – except I had no deal with anyone in New York to sell it. Reader, I was being PIRATED. Some of the fakes were very poor quality, all they needed to do was put a print into a copier and get a perfect copy, but some seemed to be made from a photo from a phone. Taken by a dog. And then there were copycat versions.  edit – Which I have now removed because this blog was giving them google search hits.

 

My original was being mass-produced in China, sold to outlets all over the world, nobody cared which poor sod did the thing .Or give him any money.  I do realise that I don’t exactly own the copyright of any of the characters in my piece, so I can’t complain too much. I’ve never had a cease and desist from Marvel or DC and I hope this piece doesn’t get me one. But I’ve worked out roughly how many must’ve been made and sold in the five years since I made it and it must’ve grossed over a billion dollars. Ok, maybe a million.

One thing I’ve learnt is that I should’ve called the piece ‘Marvel and DC Superhero Lunch Atop A Skyscraper‘ as many of the counterfeiters were calling it – because the original photo was called ‘Lunch Atop A Skyscraper.’

So if someone had seen it somewhere and googled for it, they were much more likely to google ‘Superhero Lunch Atop A Skyscraper’ or ‘Marvel DC Superhero Skyscraper‘ or ‘Superhero Skyscraper pic‘ than ‘Breakfast Of Champions.’

Just last week I found over a dozen counterfeits on Ebay, and as usual I have asked for them to be deleted and as usual it is taking weeks. I shouldn’t be doing that, I should be enjoying Piña coladas on a yacht bought with my millions.

So you live and learn. And maybe if I post this, with the bloody term Marvel and DC Superheroes Lunch Atop A Skyscraper all over the place it will help my art come up higher in the google search rankings, people might come here and read this (like you did, thanks!)  and people will buy the picture from me, not some… thieving bastards.

Again, you can buy it here – http://www.danavenell.com/buy-breakfast-of-champions-marvel-and-dc-superheroes-lunch-atop-a-skyscraper/and you can even look at some of my other work while you’re there. You don’t have to buy anything though, buy a dodgy copy, I don’t give a monkeys anymore (I still give a monkeys).

Dan

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

