Skip to content

Fun With Email Scammers

November 22, 2012

I received one of those phishing scam things, so rather than ignore it I decided to waste his time. I even got him to send me his passport. (Or fake passport, who knows) Anyway, here’s what happened…

Hello Dear,

I know that this mail will come to you as a surprise hence we have never
met before, but do not worry because I am using the only secured and confidential
medium available to seek for your foreign assistance in a business. I am
contacting you independently of my investigation and no one is informed of
this communication.

My name is Mr. Edward Effah. I am the Managing Director & Chief Executive
Officer of Fidelity Bank here in Ghana. Please I advise you to check these
websites below to confirm my status.

http://www.fidelitybank.com.gh/en/about-fidelity-bank/management.php
http://www.ey.com/NG/en/About-us/Entrepreneur-Of-The-Year/2011-Finalists-EOY—West-Region
http://www.businessguideghana.com/?p=4701
http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/business/8052518.stm
http://www.graphic.com.gh/business/page.php?news=9371
http://www.ghanatoghana.com/Ghanahomepage/ghana-runs-fidelity-bank
http://www.fidelitybank.com.gh/

I Hope that you will not expose or betray this trust and confident that I
am about to repose on you for the mutual benefit of our both families.
I am writing in respect of a foreign customer of our Bank (Lenor and Richard
Burson from Florida, U.S.A) who died along with his entire family in a plane
crash. For more information?s about the crash you can visit this site:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/americas/502503.stm

Since the tragic death of this our customer, I personally has watched with
keen interest to see the next of kin but all has proved abortive as no one
has come to claim his funds of US$13,580.000.00M (Thirteen Million Five Hundred
& Eighty Thousand United States Dollars) which has been with our bank for
a very long time.

On this note, I decided to seek your name to be used as the Next of Kin so
that this amount will be transferred to you since nobody is coming for the
money again. The Banking ethics here does not allow such money to stay more
than 14 years, because the money will be transferred to the Bank treasury
as unclaimed fund after this period.

In view of this, I got your contact through the internet when I was making
a research for a foreigner that I will use in this great opportunity because
I don?t want the money to be transferred to our Bank treasury as unclaimed
fund. I am offering you 20% of the total sum if you agree to execute this
transaction with me and the rest 80% will be for me.

The reason for a foreigner in the business is for the fact that the deceased
man was a foreigner and it is not authorized by the law guiding of Fidelity
Bank for a citizen of this country to make such claim. This is the reason
while the request of you as a foreigner is necessary to apply for the release
and transfer of the fund smoothly into your reliable Bank account.

If you are really sure of your integrity, trustworthy and confidentiality,
and accept not disappoint me after this business, please reply with your:-
{1} Full Names
{2} Address
{3} Telephone Number, Office & Cell/Mobile
{4} Fax Number
{5} Occupation / Profession / Age

Upon receipt of the above mentioned information?s, indicating your interest
in the business, I will inform you of the next step for easy execution of
the transaction.

I will not fail to bring to your notice this business is hitch free and don?t
have any negative implication. Please you should not entertain any fear as
I have made all modalities for the smooth and easy transfer of this fund
to your account. This transaction will be completed within few Bank working
days immediately we start the business. Please observe utmost confidentiality
and be rest assured that this transaction would be most profitable for both
of us because I shall require your assistance to invest my share in your
country immediately after the transaction. Waiting for your urgent response
and please kindly delete if you are not interested.

Please contact me here only for further information:

Regards,

Mr.Edward Effah

Managing Director &
Chief Executive Officer Fidelity Bank.

I responded

Dear mr Effah

I am so happy to hear from you as I have been praying for a miracle after both my daughters both contracted lupus and need a life-saving operation in Savile’s Hospital, Pedovile, UK. Can you confirm this is all above board, bona-fide and nothing to do with international terrorism, or I will not be able to proceed.

Also, what star sign are you? I am Aries. I will not do business with a water sign, bad juju.

God Bless You

Dana Venell

Dearest Dana,

Thank you for your response. I hereby received your answer. As you rightly know, what I’m looking for are the relatives of my late client whereby I have no success finding them. I decided to contact you to stand as the next of kin and receive this money instead of the fund to be confiscated by the Firm Finance, as I said in my proposal, or claimed by some unscrupulous individuals.

You can see, the next of kin relationship is not limited to the relations of the deceased, as well as parental relationships, it is by choice for the benefactor to whom he wished to be his (the receiver) or a formal written or in an officially secret information disclosure to the recipient will be his / her business partner, relationship, relatives or friends or well-wishers, therefore by virtue of the foregoing, it can be argued that the closest relatives of the deceased, despite the fact that you do not share the same surname with my late client, because it will prove its relationship with my late client’s financial institution. In this regard, it will be a great advantage for us to achieve our goal, and you are standing, not to face any problem as long as we can send all the documents that they may seek to verify the authenticity of your claim.

All I want from you is to act as next of kin and beneficiary of unclaimed property of my late client. Of course, I know that you could not be linked and do not even know (late) Mr. Richard Burson, but I want you to put claim to this money as your own, so that the money will be transferred to your account in your country. All that is required of you is to strictly follow my advice and instructions to enable the bank transfer the money to your bank account. I swear with my life and family to assure and guarantee you the success of this transaction.

In the meantime, I do not have to tell you, because this is a kind of personal problem, but to let you know how serious and true this is, and also because of your interest and hope that the need in this transaction I must tell you. My wife is sick and needs a kidney transplant. Our doctor referred us to India, but I cannot afford it right now, but where I put all hope to save her is in this transaction. I spent all my savings trying to give her life until the transplant will be done. So, please, I want you to give me your word of honor, you’re not going to make it my last hope disappear by jeopardizing this transaction.

Please can you give me your word of honor to the following points set out below? They are as follows: –

1. You do not deceive me in this transaction.

2. My own share of the money will be in your safe keeping until I come to your country for sharing and further investment.

3. You will keep this transaction very confidential, even from his best friend to ensure the safety of both parties.

4. You always contact me when you get the information from financial institutions, so that we can confer, like a family, and get the transaction completed successfully.

This operation will take about 11 days and the money will be transferred to your bank account. But as soon as your application is approved, it will take about three days, and the money will be in your account.

As soon as I receive your positive response to this particular letter, I will inform you of the next step to accomplish this deal.

God bless you and your family.

With best wishes,
Edward Effah.

Eddie-babes,
Please do not refer to me as dearest, as only my late husband may refer to me with such affection. I’ll Thankyou to call me Mrs Venell, or Miss Dana, thankyou.

I am so sorry to hear about your loss, etc. Next

1. You do not deceive me in this transaction.

I am offended that you suspect me of being a deceiver, I am a woman of the lord and would ask for an applogy if we are to do business.

2. My own share of the money will be in your safe keeping until I come to your country for sharing and further investment.

Sounds fine

3. You will keep this transaction very confidential, even from his best friend to ensure the safety of both parties.

Can I tell my local newspaper? I would probably get on the cover and that would certainly show Mrs Reynolds next door who thinks she’s so great because her bloody dog was in the paper.

4. You always contact me when you get the information from financial institutions, so that we can confer, like a family, and get the transaction completed successfully.

Wow, super.

So what do I do next? Also, i asked what astroloigical sign you are it is MOST IMPORTANT I have this information or I cannot proceed. Also, that apology I mentioned.

yours,
Dana Venell

Hello Dana,

This is an important and serious project.Am sorry for the lose of your husband. i have gone through your response and most of them did not go down well with me. please i will like you to give me you phone number so that we can talk first before we proceed so that we can build more trust on our self because without trust we cannot archive any thing.

Am “Sagittarius” which runs from November 23 till December 21. I have nothing to do with water stuff ok. Therefore i want us to go down well in business now. This is not a child’s play. if you are not capable please let me know on time because we are talking about 13.8M dollars.

Please send me your phone number as soon as possible.

Edward.

Hello Edwin

Ok, I am ready to go through with the business opportuniy. One more thing, can you send me proof that you are are a sagitariius. A simple, hand-written note, signed, would be all i would require. Then I know that everything will be ok, and I will proceed. I am looking forward to helping you and the money would just be a bonus and I will probably give it to charity or something. Or buy a car.

Yours

Dana Venell

Dear Dana,
Thanks for your mail, the content is well received. For us to proceed I need the following information upon the receipt of this message. this is not about astrology stuff rather we are talking about $13.580,000 and if you wish to work with me please reconfirm the below information again and again.

{1} Full Names
{2} Address
{3} Telephone Number, Office & Cell/Mobile
{4} Fax Number
{5} Occupation / Profession / Age

Once I receive the above stated information, I will immediately draft out an application letter for you to forward to our bank for an official claim and I will be there to make sure everything goose to your favor. You have nothing to worry about because all modalities have been taken care of, what you need is to comply with my directives and all will be fine. Thanks for your concern over my wife. Actually she undergo her dialysis once a week, it painful with a huge amount of money, that is the reason while i embark on this project to make sure my own share will be used judiciously to take care of my wife to give her a new life.
Waiting to hear from you again and your direct phone number will be highly needed for prompt communication.

Thanks,
Edward Effah.

1. What does ‘modalities’ mean? I can’t proceed if I am unclear about technical jargon I’m sure you undertsand. Sorry to hear about your nearly-dead wife.

hugs,

Dana Venell

Dear Dana,

Thanks for your concern over my wife situation but she is not half dead rather she is in serious pains after her dialysis. I think by now you should understand that am a busy man. Please Modalities in this term since stand for all arrangement has been put in place for a smooth and hitch free transaction, Moreover it risk free and legal.

Waiting for the required information.
Edward.

Hello

Yes, I am a busy person also. The world doesn’t revolve around you so please be careful with your tone.

I am now ready to give you all the information you require to proceed with the transaction, please remind me what you want again as I seem to have lost our previous emails

Yours

Dana Venell

Dear Dana,
Thanks for your mail, the content is well received. For us to proceed I need the following information upon the receipt of this message. this is not about astrology stuff rather we are talking about $13.580,000 and if you wish to work with me please reconfirm the below information again and again.

{1} Full Names
{2} Address
{3} Telephone Number, Office & Cell/Mobile
{4} Fax Number
{5} Occupation / Profession / Age

Once I receive the above stated information, I will immediately draft out an application letter for you to forward to our bank for an official claim and I will be there to make sure everything goose to your favor. You have nothing to worry about because all modalities have been taken care of, what you need is to comply with my directives and all will be fine. Thanks for your concern over my wife. Actually she undergo her dialysis once a week, it painful with a huge amount of money, that is the reason while i embark on this project to make sure my own share will be used judiciously to take care of my wife to give her a new life.
Waiting to hear from you again and your direct phone number will be highly needed for prompt communication.

Thanks,
Edward Effah.

Eddie-cakes,

I have all the information you need and am ready to give you it as you have certainly gained my trust. however i must insist you provide me with proof that you are Sagitarius as you say – my spirit guide warns me that it will be disastrous to go into any financial transaction with someone of the wrong star sign. Please provide proof, such as a birth certificate, then i will happily give you all my details. Thanks for your understanding

Dana Venell

Dear Dana,
Here is my passport. Please confirm and send all the information I required from you so that we can proceed.
Edward.

Edward Pee scammer mredwardeffahceo@gmail.com

mredwardeffahceo@gmail.com

I forwarded all this to the police. Not sure if I’ve finished with him yet though…

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Jen permalink
    February 21, 2013 9:36 am

    BRILLIANT!

  2. March 18, 2013 8:23 am

    This is fabulous!! Thank you for your imagination.

  3. July 7, 2013 1:20 pm

    Majestic. A scam on the scammers. You can see his rage building up at this ‘pesky old lady’ who he’s trying to deal with and the desperation builds with each mail. It does make you wonder how many people fall for this…it’s a numbers game for these people but when they get a fish on the hook they just don’t want to let it go. Great work Dan

  4. Jaded Joanna permalink
    October 6, 2013 11:10 am

    Brilliant, I think I love you. 😉

  5. September 5, 2014 4:10 pm

    Haha thank you for this, it has really made me chuckle – keep up the good work, you are like a superhero!

  6. Tom Axtell permalink
    March 22, 2015 12:08 pm

    Well done! Let’s hope he gets nicked.

Leave a Reply

